Traditional and contemporary folk from the British Isles


a24b08b8-4cda-48a5-8b50-1d82a6ff8eee50th anniversay vinyl edition of Martin Carthy‘s debut album. First released in 1965 this record has been an enduring influence, capturing the most creative folksong interpreter of his generation early in his career. His singing and guitar-playing have been imitated wherever the revival has reached, across North America and Europe no less than in Britain.

Martin Carthy vocals, guitar
Dave Swarbrick fiddle, mandolin

1  High Germany
2  The Trees They Do Grow High
3  Sovay
4  Ye Mariners All
5  The Queen of Hearts
6  Broomfield Hill
7  Springhill Mine Disaster
8  Scarborough Fair
9  Lovely Joan
10  The Barley & the Rye
11  The Wind that Shakes the Barley
12  The Two Magicians
13  The Handsome Cabin Boy
14  And a Begging I Will Go

Available now from: