Traditional and contemporary folk from the British Isles

LAL WATERSON ~ teach me to be a summer’s morning

Marry Waterson’s introduction to this collection of her Mum’s artistic creations begins: “Mum would really rather go without breakfast, dinner and tea than lose creative flow, living on coffee and Woodbines, her pen lagging behind her brain, refusing to pause to spell correctly through crossings out, torn pages, shopping lists and knitting patterns.” Lal Waterson is known primarily as a singer and songwriter, a member of the wonderful Watersons.

teach me to be a summer’s morning shows the full range of her creativity. The limited edition hardback book publishes, for the first time, a selection of her drawings, painting, lyrics, thoughts and poems to present a portrait of her extraordinary tender, intense, complex but ultimately very human artistic talents. ORDER your copy of teach me to be a summer’s morning from the Fledg’ling shop.

Here’s a little video opening the book for the first time and exploring the contents:

A CD is included inside the book – collecting together 15 songs drawn from her home recordings – serves to confirm her stature as a songwriter of rare imagination, depth and rich beauty. Just as teach me to be a summer’s morning was being prepared for printing and CD manufacture we finally tracked-down the original two reels of demo tapes from 1971 of the songs written for Bright Phoebus. Many of these songs have never been released previously, none have ever sounded so magnificent.

track list:
1 Never The Same
2 The Scarecrow
3 Evon Our Darling
4 May Butterfly
5 To Make You Stay
6 Marvellous Companion
7 Red Wine and Promises
8 Shine
9 Piper’s Way
10 Black Horse
11 Song For Thirza
12 Shady Lady
13 Once In A Blue Moon
14 Anna Dixie
15 Telephone Raider

teach me to be a summer’s morning was published in a limited edition of only 1500 copies on Monday 21st October. ORDER your copy of teach me to be a summer’s morning from the Fledg’ling shop.

LINDA THOMPSON ~ Won’t Be Long Now Vinyl LP

Topic will release their first vinyl LP in over 25 years on Monday 18th November when Linda Thompson‘s splendid new album Won’t Be Long Now will be released. The LP is pressed on 180gm audiophile vinyl within a gatefold sleeve.

Won’t Be Long Now is Linda Thompson’s first album in six years and is a return to her folk roots and a bit of a family affair – featuring a duet with former husband Richard Thompson, regular contributions from their children Teddy and Kami, and grandson Zak Hobbs. Won’t Be Long Now also  includes appearances by many alumni of the British folk scene, including John Kirkpatrick, Dave Swarbrick, Martin and Eliza Carthy, as well as American musicians like David Mansfield, Amy Helm, Sam Amidon, Jenni Muldaur and Tony Trischka, among others.

NPR urges “getting to listen to Thompson’s rich voice is well worth the wait.” Recorded mainly in New York City, but also at sessions in Scotland and various London studios including Abbey Road, with longtime producer Ed Haber, the album features nine songs penned by Thompson as well as collaborators, including son Teddy Thompson and Ron Sexsmith.

Track list side A:
1  Love’s For Babies and Fools
2  Never Put To Sea Boys
3  If I Were a Bluebird
4  As Fast As My Feet
5  Father Son Ballad
Side B:

6  Mr. Tams
7  Nursery Rhyme of Innocence and Experience
8  Paddy’s Lamentation
9  Never the Bride
10  Blue Bleezin’ Blind Drunk (recorded live at The Bottom Line)
11  It Won’t Be Long Now

“Longstanding dysphonia problems make any Linda Thompson sighting precious. The fact that, now substantially beyond the full flush of youth, she can still make an album that makes your heart wobble fretfully is extraordinary… Kleenex is a must” Colin Irwin, fRoots

Available now from:

LINDA THOMPSON ~ Won’t Be Long Now wood cut poster

To celebrate the release of the new Linda Thompson album a commemorative woodcut poster has been commissioned from Peter Nevins.

Nevins is an aclaimed printmaker working in Portland, Oregon who has designed artwork and posters for many of his favourite musicians, including Gillian Welch, Dan Hicks and Anais Mitchell.

The Won’t Be Long Now poster is hand-printed in a  limited edition of 300 original two-color woodcut block prints on 100% cotton paper.
13″x19″ standard Fillmore poster size.
Hand-carved and printed on a hand-powered etching press using water-based inks.
Signed by the artist and hand-numbered.

Topic has a few of these very collectable posters available for immediate delivery.
Order Now