The seven piece group Blue Murder, made up of Waterson:Carthy, Coope, Boyes and Simpson and Mike Waterson, has been described as “Harmony Heaven” and one listen is enough to explain why – seven of the greatest English folk voices performing together with passion and spirit. The repertoire ranges between great traditional standards, selected compositions and original songs by some of the band members. Whilst much of the album is the full glory of the seven voices, about half of the tracks have the added benefit of Martin Carthy’s understated but impeccable guitar work.

“..seldom has the unadorned human voice sounded more exhilarating. No One Stands Alone is destined to be one of the best British folk albums released this year.” ★★★★ The Times

“singing and harmonising; top of the range; selection of songs; spot on, but more than that, there is a startling chemistry about them. There is a real mood of spontaneity and the idea of a group united by..a mutual love of the songs they are performing. Stand-out tracks include the rousing Bully in the Alley, the sentimental Land Where you Never Grow Old, and the devotional Standing on the Promises of God. Choruses made in heaven all. It is an album of qualities and values. Timeless.” fRoots

“The collective warmth of their intricately meshed harmonies fully bears out the togetherness made explicit in the title track. The septet’s burnished tones bring dignity and affection to their songs, with Norma Waterson’s commanding voice proud and plangent at its heart. – beautiful renditions of traditional songs such as “Stars in My Crown” and “The Banks of Sweet Primeroses” tempered by the poignant sway of something like “The Land Where You Never Grow Old.” The Independent Review

“Performed in a dazzling array of harmonies by the best singers in the business – exhilarating – majestic and heartwarming. Essential” MOJO

1  No One Stands Alone
2  Gown Of Green
3  Rubber Band
4  Blue Mountain
5  Standing On The Promises Of God
6  The Banks Of Sweet Primroses
7  The Land Where You Never Grow Old
8  Thre Day Millionaire
9  Adieu Sweet Lovely Nancy
10  Bully In The Alley
11  Mole In A Hole
12  Stars In My Crown
13  The Goodnight Song

Barry Coope vocals
Norma Waterson vocals
Martin Carthy vocals, guitar
Eliza Carthy vocals
Jim Boyes vocals
Lester Simpson vocals, accordeon
Mike Waterson vocals

Available now from:

Download PDF booklet