Their best album so far. Brass Monkey return with their “Deep English” sound, and have never sounded better. Flame of Fire sees the band performing with a new intensity.

“Anyone who shares a love of traditional music or enjoys being intrigued and pleasantly surprised should seek this album out. This is a great, sophisticated album which may confuse some pop music sensibilities. Long may Brass Monkey play with such subversive brilliance.” Morning Star

“There is no doubt that Brass Monkey is one of the most important bands to appear in the world of folk music – top quality interpretations of English music – excellent.” The Living Tradition
“An album of big tunes – it sparks powerful emotions.” fRoots magazine

“If you like any form of brass-band music, from classical to New Orleans jazz, Brass Monkey’s uniquely English variant is guaranteed” Dirty Linen

1  The Swinton May Song
2  The Installation
3  A Brisk Young Widow
4  The Maid Of Australia
5  Bill Driver’s Quickstep + Maiden Lane
6  The Game Of All Fours
7  Happy Hours
8  The Queen’s Birthday + New Whitehall + Dick’s Maggot
9  Flame Of Fire
10  The Marriage Vow
11  The Streams Of Lovely Nancy
12  La Belle Jeanette + Billy Harrisons Father’s Polka
13  Limbo
14  The Duke Of Wellington’s March

Martin Brinsford drums, tambourine, cymbal, shaker, berimbau, reco-reco, mouth organs, saxophone
Martin Carthy vocals, guitar, mandolin, 5 string banjo
Howard Evans trumpets, flugelhorn
John Kirkpatrick vocals, button accordion, anglo concertinas
Roger Williams bass trombone, tenor trombone, tuba, euphonium

Available now from:

Download PDF booklet