One of the world’s greatest ever traditional singers is celebrated on this magnificent double CD of previously unissued material recorded by Ewan MacColl and Peggy Seeger in 1964, when Joe Heaney was at the height of his powers. 39 tracks and a 60 page booklet, which includes a full transcript as well as detailed notes on the man, his songs and his tradition

“These superb recordings;..exceptional liner note essays; the presentation of both Gaelic and English songs makes the collection accessible and essential for anyone seeking to get a little closer to the roots of a unique man whose legacy is well captured by this release” Sing Out Magazine

Joe Heaney vocal

CD 1
1  My Bonny Boy is Young
2  The West of lreland
3  Skibbereen
4  Bean Phaidin – Paidin’s Wife
5  Amhran na hEascaiine – The Song of the Eel (Lord Randal)
6  As I Roved Out
7  Story & Song: An Droighnean Donn
The Brown Blackthorn
8  Caroline and her Young Sailor Bold
9  Fishing in Connemara
10 Amhran an Bha’ – Song of the Drowning (Currachai na Tra Baine)
11  Singing in Connemara
12  The Jug of Punch
13  The Ferocious O’Flahertys
14  The Widow from Mayo
15  The Harp without the Crown
16  Suantrai (lullaby) Scoithin Seo
17  Advice to Young Singers
18  The Valley of Knockanure
19  The Valley of Knockanure
20  Whiskey O Roudeldum-Row
21  Barbary Ellen

CD 2
1  The Two Greyhounds (The Bogs of Shanabeever)
2  The Old Woman of Wexford
3  The Banks of Claudy
4  Eamonn an Chnoic (Ned of the Hill)
5  My Boy Willie
6  Patsy McCann
7  Story & Song: Una Bhan – Fair Una
8  Cailleach an Airgid (The Hag with the Money)
9  The Lonely Woods of Upton
10  O’Brien from Tipperary
11  Erin Gra mo Chroi (Ireland, Love of my Heart)
12  Story & Song: Cunnla
13  The Tennis Right (Captain Coulston)
14  Story & Song: Eanach Cuain (Annaghdown)
15  Beidh Aonach Amarach i gContae an Chlair – Greasai Brog’ (There is a fair tomorrow in the County Clare – The Shoemaker)
16  The Glen of Aberlow
17  Slan agus Beannacht le Buaireamh an tSaoil ‘Farewell to the Worries of Life (One Morning in June)
18  The Old Man Rocking the Cradle

Available now from: