June Tabor makes the ultimate album for all discerning folk fans, featuring a programme made up exclusively of the great traditional folk ballads – story telling at its dark, urgent best. June’s regular trio of accompanists (Huw Warren – piano, cello; Mark Emerson – violin, viola; Tim Harries – double bass) are joined by Martin Simpson, guitar and Kathryn Tickell, Northumbrian pipes).

Best Folk Album of the Year★★★★★ MOJO
“June’s best album for years; sheer majesty; a return to the very heart of what she does best.”fRoots
“Outstanding…the year’s finest folk record”The Sunday Times
“her richly expressive delivery probes deeply into tragic and often violent scenarios.”★★★★ The Scotsman
“This year’s finest traditional album.”The Guardian
“I doubt if I will ever hear a better recording.”The Canberra Times

1  Bonnie James Campbell
2  The Duke Of Athole’s Nurse
3  The Battle Of Otterburn
4  Lord Maxwell’s Last Goodnight
5  Hughie Graeme
6  The Border Widow’s Lament
7  Fair Margaret And Sweet William
8  Rare Willie
9  Young Johnstone
10  The Cruel Mother
11  Sir Patrick Spens

June Tabor vocals
Huw Warren
piano, cello, piano accordion
Mark Emerson violin, viola, piano (on track 10)
Tim Harries double bass
Martin Simpson guitar (on tracks 2 and 9)
Kathryn Tickell Northumbrian pipes (on tracks 3 and 5)

Available now from:

Download PDF booklet