TSCD126 webLouis Killen is a hard-core, unadulterated folksinger whose passionate delivery is matched by a deep and wide-ranging knowledge of the songs and the working people who made them. Born in Gateshead in Co. Durham, he was noted for his love of sea songs, as well as the industrial and rural folk songs of his native North East of England. Released in 1965, Ballads and Broadsides was the first full album by a solo folk singer and was, and still is, hugely influential. A great album full of great performances it was, sadly, to be the only album he recorded for Topic Records as he left Britain within a couple of years for a new life in the USA.

“An absolute beauty”fRoots
★★★★ Record Collector
“A master balladeer already in complete control of his formidable range of skills.”Stirrings

Louis Killen vocal, concertina

1  Young Edwin in the Lowlands
2  As We Were a-Sailing
3  The Flying Cloud
4  All Things Are Quite Silent
5  One May Morning
6  The Cock
7  The Bramble Briar
8  Thorneymoor Woods
9  The Banks Of Sweet Primeroses

Available now from: