“The nearest thing this country has to Ry Cooder” The Big Issue

Released in August 2003, this follow up to the award-winning album The Bramble Briar is a collection of new recordings, this time drawn from the American tradition and featuring his unequalled instrumental and vocal ability. As Martin says in his album notes, this record allows him to tip his hat to the music and people of the Southern US, and features a mix of traditional song and Martin’s own compositions. Alongside his singing, Martin plays acoustic guitar, ukulele, electric guitar, lap-steel, percussion, 5-string banjo and slide guitar. Much of the album was recorded in New Orleans and he is joined by a crack team of local musicians. Steeleye Span’s Rick Kemp features on some of the tracks recorded in the UK.

“Martin Simpson demonstrates all over again that he is one of the great exponents of folk-blues guitar playing and his evocative vocal style fits the material perfectly.” The Scotsman

“Martin Simpson is a guitarist of extraordinary accomplishment and versatility – creates the sound-world in which dramas are played out….instrumental brilliance” ★★★★ Songlines

“16 wonderful and varied pieces – it is a hell of a musical experience – another stunning piece of work to cherish” Rogue Folk Magazine

1  John Hardy
2  Horn Island
3  I Can’t Keep From Crying Sometimes
4  Easy Money
5  Payday
6  This World Is A Trouble And A Trial
7  Ghosts In the Pines
8  The Coo Coo Bird
9  Love Never Dies
10  Some Dark Holler
11  Rico
12  Georgie
13  Wild Bill Jones
14  The Devil’s Partiality
15  Rollin’ And Tumblin’
16  The Last Shot Got Him

Martin Simpson guitars, ukelele, lap steel, banjo, vocal
James Singleton acoustic bass
Rick Kemp electric bass, percussion
Jessica Radcliffe backing vocals
Carl Budo drums
Amassa Miller organ
Reggie Scanlan Fender bass
Dave Malone electric guitar
Mike Skinkus percussion

Available now from:

Download PDF booklet