For over thirty years Nic Jones has been recognised as one of the finest artists to have emerged from the British folk revival of the mid twentieth century. He recorded a handful of important albums including his most highly regarded Penguin Eggs (Topic TSCD411), before a road accident ended his performing career in early 1982. Game Set Match gathers together a remarkable series of live performances from the late 1970s. Nic remains one of the most influential and respected musicians, and his reputation and available recordings continue to attract an audience too young to have seen him perform.

“These late 70s recordings are truly special. They capture Nic Jones at his finest.” ★★★★ Uncut
★★★★★ Record Collector
“Fifteen faultless reasons why his name remains a mark of folk music supremacy. Utterly absorbing.” HMV Choice
“Reaffirms Nic’s rightful legend as a colossus of the folk revival with his relaxed vocal style, his light innovative, percussive guitar accompaniments and his unique way of storytelling. Just hearing him creates a warm glow of recognition, familiarity and joy.” fRoots
“A marvellously expressive voice and fingers that dance on his guitar. How glad we should be that a new generation can discover Nic through an album like this.” ★★★★ The Sun

1  Bonny Light Horseman
2  Seven Yellow Gypsies
3  Flanders Shore
4  Rufford Park Poachers
5  Jolly Bold Robber
6  Clyde Water
7  Billy Don’t You Weep For Me
8  Demon Lover
9  Master Kilby
10  Banks of Fordie
11  Hamburger Polka
12  Isle of France
13  Dives and Lazarus
14  Ploughman Lads
15  Lakes of Shillin

Nic Jones vocals, guitar

Download PDF booklet