Mysterious Day is Oliver Knight‘s first solo project and, in truly typical fashion, it is a collaboration with others. The vocals on the album are handled by Christine Collister, Eliza Carthy, Norma Waterson, Maria Gilhooley, John Tams and Barry Coope and additional instrumentation is provided by Chris Parkinson (piano & harmonica), Jo Freya (sax), Alice Kinloch (tuba) and Andy Cutting (melodeon). A long time in gestation, the album continues in the family “tradition” of highly original English composition which, although owing much to the folk tradition, is not beholden to it. He has written all the material except for Evona, written by Lal Waterson, Once In a Blue Moon, co-written with Lal Waterson and the traditional Go From My Window, arranged with Eliza Carthy. As well as producing and engineering the album, Oliver Knight played all guitars and arranged all the music.

Mysterious Day shows Oliver Knight to be a genuinely original songwriter whose style could be compared with that of Nick Drake.
“It’s hard to pick out a track that isn’t a highlight; a really refreshing album; File under fantastic” BBC Radio 2

1  Mysterious Day : Christine Collister vocal
2  Fylde
3  My Sweet Lullaby : Maria Gilhooley vocal
4  Emotion
5  Go From My Window : Eliza Carthy vocal
6  South Sea’s
7  Evona : John Tams vocal
8  Nelly
9  Once In A Blue Moon : Norma Waterson vocal
10  Summer Lightning : Barry Coope vocal
11  Hush : John Tams vocal
12  Sleeping

Oliver Knight guitars, sequencing, programming, production and recording
Chris Parkinson piano & harmonica
Jo Freya sax
Alice Kinloch tuba
Andy Cutting melodeon

Available now from: