Another outstanding collection from Waterson:Carthy England’s leading folk group. The core trio of Martin Carthy, Norma Waterson & Eliza Carthy are joined by new member Tim van Eyken on vocals and melodeons. Also contributing to the album are Martin Simpson on guitar, Ben Ivitsky on fiddle and Barnaby Stradling on acoustic bass guitar.

A Dark Light, first released in 2002, reflects the influence on the group of some of the great singers from the tradition, and therefore features a selection including songs from The Copper Family, Packie Byrne, Seamus Ennis and Sam Larner.

“This great album…bringing a creative continuity to some of the great source material of the folk revival” BBC Radio 2 folk reviews

1  The Devil And The Farmer
2  May Morning
3  Death And The Lady
4  The Outlandish Knight
5  Balancy Straw + Seventeen Come Sunday + Whitefriars Hornpipe
6  The Lofty Tall Ship
7  The Holland Handkerchief
8  The Old Churchyard
9  Crystal Spring
10  Diego’s Bold Shore
11  Shepherds Arise

Norma Waterson vocals
Martin Carthy vocals, guitar
Eliza Carthy vocals, fiddle, viola
Tim van Eyken vocals, melodeon
Martin Simpson guitar
Ben Ivitsky fiddle
Barnaby Stradling acoustic bass guitar

Available now from:

Download PDF booklet