The great family tradition returns to record their third album, this time as a four piece, with Norma Waterson, Martin Carthy and Eliza Carthy joined by Saul Rose on melodeons and voice. The extended line-up results in a jewel of an album. Stand out tracks are Raggle Taggle Gipsies featuring Eliza, The Bay of Biscay featuring Norma, the staggering instrumentals and Martin’s Bald Headed End of the Broom with New Orleans marching band added for good measure.

Norma Waterson vocals, triangle
Martin Carthy vocals, guitar
Eliza Carthy vocals, fiddle, viola
Saul Rose vocals, melodeon
Ben Ivitsky low whistle
+ The Phoenix New Orleans Parade Band

1 Raggle Taggle Gipsies
2 The Bay of Biscay
3 Sheffield Waltz / Waltz Clog / The Wounded Hussar
4 The Lion’s Den
5 Fare Thee Well Cold Winter
6 Rowling Hornpipe / Our Cat has Kitted / Bleaton Gardens / The Sportsman’s Hornpipe
7 The Foresaken Mermaid
8 We Poor Labouring Men
9 The Ditchling Carol
10 Dorrington Lads / Adam a’Bell
11 The Royal Forester / The Bald Headed End of the Broom

Available now from:

Download PDF booklet