Topic will release their first vinyl LP in over 25 years on Monday 18th November when Linda Thompson’s splendid new album Won’t Be Long Now will be released. The LP is pressed on 180gm audiophile vinyl within a gatefold sleeve.

Won’t Be Long Now is Linda Thompson’s first album in six years and is a return to her folk roots and a bit of a family affair – featuring a duet with former husband Richard Thompson, regular contributions from their children Teddy and Kami, and grandson Zak Hobbs. Won’t Be Long Now also includes appearances by many alumni of the British folk scene, including John Kirkpatrick, Dave Swarbrick, Martin and Eliza Carthy, as well as American musicians like David Mansfield, Amy Helm, Sam Amidon, Jenni Muldaur and Tony Trischka, among others.

NPR urges “getting to listen to Thompson’s rich voice is well worth the wait.” Recorded mainly in New York City, but also at sessions in Scotland and various London studios including Abbey Road, with longtime producer Ed Haber, the album features nine songs penned by Thompson as well as collaborators, including son Teddy Thompson and Ron Sexsmith.

Track list side A:
1 Love’s For Babies and Fools
2 Never Put To Sea Boys
3 If I Were a Bluebird
4 As Fast As My Feet
5 Father Son Ballad

Side B:
6 Mr. Tams
7 Nursery Rhyme of Innocence and Experience
8 Paddy’s Lamentation
9 Never the Bride
10 Blue Bleezin’ Blind Drunk (recorded live at The Bottom Line)
11 It Won’t Be Long Now

“Longstanding dysphonia problems make any Linda Thompson sighting precious. The fact that, now substantially beyond the full flush of youth, she can still make an album that makes your heart wobble fretfully is extraordinary Kleenex is a must” Colin Irwin, fRoots