Barry Dransfield recorded this unusual and exciting album of fiddle music for Topic in 1978.

A professional folk singer since 1965, Barry’s first recording success came with brother, Robin, in 1970 with their Melody maker Folk Album of the year, The Rout of the Blues. He made two more albums with his brother and collaborated with Ashley Hutchings, Richard Thompson, John Kirkpatrick and Shirley Collins on the seminal Morris On featuring his singing and fiddle playing.

1 Rattling Roaring Willie / Metal Man
2 Fiddler’s Progress
3 Who Knows Where the Time Goes? / My Lagan Love
4 Sheffield Hornpipe / Pet of the Pipers
5 Up the Aisle: Swedish Wedding March Wedding Song / Bridie’s Wedding / Norwegian Wedding March / Wedding Morris
6 Sandy Bell’s
7 Obliged to Fiddle / Planxty Davy / Spanish Cloak
8 Bushes and Briars / Swedish Air
9 O’Carolan’s Concerto
10 Recitation upon a Gentleman Sitting on a Cremona Violin
11 Sally Gardens / Clonmel Races

Barry Dransfield : vocals, violin, cello, gimbri, bowed Appalachian dulcimer;
Robin Dransfield : vocals [2]

Recorded and produced by Nic Kinsey at Livingston Studios
First published by Topic 1978

Listen / buy on:
Spotify, Apple Music / iTunes, Amazon

Download PDF booklet