An official live collection from Martin Simpson recorded, as the title suggest, at a series of gigs in the US during 1998 and 1999. Bootleg USA is a great collection of live performances by the acknowledged master of the guitar – great sound too! Put together by Martin Simpson himself from several concerts just before he left the States to re-settle back in England, it has been out of print for some time and has never been available officially in the UK. Mixing superb acoustic guitar solos with some fantastic songs from the likes of Richard Thompson and Bob Dylan, Bootleg USA is a great sounding live CD from one of the UK’s foremost musicians. Martin Simpson’s understanding and mastery of music are such that although this is a technically faultless performance, technique in itself never intrudes between the musician and the listener: he is “at one” with his instrument, leading to a direct communication of emotion.”

Track list:
1 Plains of Waterloo / James Connolly (5.39)
2 One More Day / Boots of Spanish Leather (9.21)
3 Roadkill (7.29)
4 Strange Affair (4.16)
5 Granemore Hare (5.58)
6 Icarus (5.09)
7 Highway 61 / Highway 61 Revisited (7.46)
8 Delia (3.50)
9 Jasper Songbird / Spoonful (8.49)
10 Fool Me Once (4.45)