John Tams is one of our finest musicians and singers and one of our greatest songwriters. He can sing traditional material wonderfully and, at the same time, has written some of our best songs ever. Harry Stone, otherwise known as Hearts of Coal, and the beautiful Hugh Stenson and Molly Green are just two of his songs that have entered the canon in the last few years. On this album, John deals the tradition – reworking several classic songs – and then adds his own unmistakable originals to produce a landmark new album.

Top 10 Folk Album of the Year 2005 Mojo
” An album that seems to grow in stature with every play – a poetic songwriter and singer of real character – a consummate reflection on an evocative, living tradition. An exceptional album. Album of the Month” ★★★★ MOJO
“The true “Folk album of the year” is undeniably John Tams’ The Reckoning. A stunning collection of original and traditional material, the album defies easy categorisation. Outstanding” ★★★★ What’s On In London
“Bitter Withy as arranged here is the best version I have ever heard. Brilliant.” fRoots
“The new album, The Reckoning, is absolutely superb – one of the main folk happenings of the year.” Mike Harding BBC Radio 2
“An absolutely fantastic album – I love Amelia, love Safe House, love it all, and the Bitter Withy is out of this world.” Linda Thompson
“The Reckoning is a beautifully composed CD – masculine yet tender, full of integrity – so beautifully expressing things that should be said and felt. As for the Bitter Withy – it’s just wonderful – hypnotic, and moving forward in a quite extraordinary way; so steady – so compelling.” Shirley Collins

1  Written In The Book
2  Safe House
3  Amelia
4  How High The Price? / All Clouds The Sky / St Hilda’s Waltz
5  Bitter Withy
6  A Man Of Constant Sorrow
7  The Sea: Pretty Nancy / A Sailor’s Life / One More Day / As I Looked East, As I Looked West
8  Including Love

John Tams vocals, acoustic guitar, button accordion, bass guitar, 5 string banjo
Barry Coope vocals, keyboards, harmonium, percussion, drums
Graeme Taylor electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 5 string banjo, dobro, ukelele
Keith Angel drums, percussion
Andy Seward string bass, bouzouki, 5 string banjo
Steve Dawson trumpet, cornet, flugel horn
Roger Wilson acoustic guitar, fiddles

Available now from: