June Tabor’s recording career has consistently reached ever higher standards of performance and interpretation. Each of her albums has sought to match the highest technical standards with emotionally powerful performances and scintillating musical arrangements. Her forthcoming album – a stunning collection of songs concerning humankind’s relationship with the sea – is already being hailed by critics and long-time fans as another career highpoint.

June’s range and depth are unparalleled, and with Ashore she fully justifies her reputation as England’s foremost song interpreter. Ashore features a powerful set of contemporary songs alongside classic traditional ballads like ‘The Bleacher Lassie Of Kelvinhaugh’ and ‘The Great Selkie Of Sule Skerry’. The contemporary material includes a spine-tingling version of Elvis Costello’s ‘Shipbuilding’; a new recording of Ian Telfer’s ‘Finisterre’ (first recorded by June with the Oyster Band on ‘Freedom & Rain’) and two remarkable songs from the pen of Cyril Tawney – ‘The Grey Funnel Line’ and ‘The Oggie Man’. The album was recorded with June’s regular musicians – Andy Cutting, diatonic accordion; Mark Emerson, viola and violin, Tim Harries, double bass and Huw Warren, piano.

“It’s 35 years since June Tabor’s debut album, but this has to be among her best.” ★★★★ The Times

“A thing of compelling beauty, and stands head and shoulders above most folk albums you’re likely to hear this year… Pure class.” English Dance & Song

“This deeply affecting collection of sea stories demonstrates the core of her art almost to perfection.” ★★★★ Mojo

“This is wonderful. England’s foremost folk singer performs 13 fascinating songs that key into our historical and emotional relationship with the sea. It’s a remarkable record.” The Word

“June Tabor has always resolutely pursued her own heart without recourse to the conformities of genre, expectations of audiences and especially not the pressures of orthodox commercial appeal.”
Colin Irwin / BBC Music online

1 Finisterre
2 The Bleacher Lassie Of Kelvinhaugh
3 The Grey Funnel Line
4 Le Vingt-Cinquieme du Mois d’Octobre
5 Shipbuilding
6 Jamaica
7 The Great Selkie Of Sule Skerry
8 Winter Comes In / Vidlin Voe
9 The Oggie Man
10 The Brean Lament
11 Le Petit Navire
12 Across The Wide Ocean

June Tabor vocals
Andy Cutting diatonic accordion
Huw Warren piano
Mark Emerson violin, viola
Tim Harries double bass

Available now from: