Vision & Revision: The First 80 Years of Topic Records2019 marks the 80th birthday of Topic Records, the oldest independent record label in the world. As part of the celebrations, on 31st May 2019, we released the landmark album, ‘Vision & Revision : The first 80 years of Topic Records’ – a deluxe double CD and vinyl of the cream of British and Irish folk artists interpreting a song of their choice from Topic’s vast back catalogue – the only stipulation being that the song was at some time released on Topic. Includes never-before-released tracks by Martin Simpson, Richard Thompson, Lankum, Peggy Seeger, John Smith, Sam Lee, Martin Carthy, Olivia Chaney, Lisa O’Neill, Oysterband, Nancy Kerr, Chris Wood, Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker, Lisa Knapp, Kitty Macfarlane, Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys, Emily Portman & Rob Harbron, Rachael McShane & The Cartographers, Eliza Carthy & Olivia Chaney and The Oldham Tinkers.

‘Vision & Revision’ is a unique celebration of folk music, as a crop of contemporary artists delve into Topic’s treasure chest, pull out all manner and variety of ballads and broadsides and breathe new life into them.

Buy, download or listen to Vision & Revision

Tracklisting :
1. Martin Simpson – Beaulampkin
2. Peggy Seeger – Jack Frost
3. John Smith – She Moves Through The Fair
4. Josienne Clarke & Ben Walker – The Banks Of The Sweet Primroses
5. Oysterband – Seven Gypsies
6. Nancy Kerr – Searching For Lambs
7. Sam Lee – The Deserter
8. Kitty Macfarlane – Go Your Way
9. Lisa O’Neill – As I Roved Out
10. Chris Wood – Fable Of The Wings
11. The Oldham Tinkers – Dirty Old Town
12. Rachael McShane & The Cartographers – Workers’ Song
13. Richard Thompson – The Light Bob’s Lassie
14. Olivia Chaney – Polly Vaughan
15. Martin Carthy – Napoleon’s Dream
16. Lisa Knapp – I Wish My Love Was a Cherry
17. Sam Kelly & The Lost Boys – Shawnee Town
18. Emily Portman & Rob Harbron – Bay Of Biscay
19. Eliza Carthy & Olivia Chaney – Nancy Of Yarmouth
20. Lankum – The Sea Captain

“A distinct triumph”
fRoots ★★★★★

“An impressive homage from some of the current folk scene’s finest honouring the label’s rich legacy. This has a beating heart full of love and conviction”
MOJO ★★★★

“A treasury of wonderful songs, superbly performed”
Record Collector ★★★★

“Visionary, passionate, authentic”
The Sun ★★★★1/2