Waterson:Carthy’s fifth album includes a characteristically eclectic selection of material from a formidable range of sources. Much of the album was recorded “live in the studio” with a view to retaining the essence of the group’s live interactive performance and this goal was successfully achieved. 

With one exception, the songs are about people who, whether or not they were born under a Bad Sign, certainly come – one way or another – under the Bad heading. It is almost a given that this makes for a programme of interesting and intriguing material. The set includes an outstanding reworking of the Jerry Garcia classic Black Muddy River, previously sung by Norma on her award winning solo album for the Hannibal label.

“the synergy is quite electrifying”Observer Music Monthly Magazine
“I urge everyone who is a traditional folk music fan to buy it. As always with these great performers, it was a pleasure.”folking.com
“Something special happens when the first family of English folk gets together; This is folk music at its unadorned and traditional best. The uplifting harmonies of Norma and Eliza bring a joyous exuberance.”The Times

1  Goodbye Fare You Well
2  The Oxford Girl
3  The Galopede / Walter Bulwer’s No.2 / Walter Bulwer’s No. 1
4  Newry Town
5  Farewell Lovely Nancy
6  Black Muddy River
7  The Quadrille / The Tempest / The Portland Fancy
8  Napoleon’s Death
9  Green Broom
10  George Till’s No. 2 / George Till’s No. 1
11  Captain Kidd
12  Twenty One Years On Dartmoor

Norma Waterson vocals, triangle
Martin Carthy vocals, guitar, 5 string banjo
Eliza Carthy vocals, fiddle
Tim van Eyken vocals, melodeons
Ben Ivitsky viola (Farewell Lovely Nancy)

Available now from:

Download PDF booklet